Text  Larger | Smaller | Default


Hammers return to Portugal

Filed: Wednesday, 31st July 2013
By: Staff Writer

West Ham United have confirmed they will be taking part in the Guadiana Trophy, which takes place next week.

The three-team tournment also features crack Portuguese sides Sporting Lisbon and SC Braga, who West Ham last met a year ago next month when the two sides played out a 1-1 draw in the Estádio AXA.

West Ham open their campaign on Monday, 5th August against Sporting before facing Braga exactly 24 hours later. The final match between the two Portuguese teams takes place on Wednesday, 7th August.

All matches are being staged at the 9,544 capacity Estádio Municipal de Portimão, the home of SC Portimonense.

Hammers boss Sam Allardyce told whufc.com: "We are honoured to be involved in such a prestigious pre-season tournament against two of Portugal's best sides in Sporting and SC Braga.

"The Guadiana tournament will be the perfect preparation for our 2013/14 Premier League season and both myself and my players are very much looking forward to taking part in it.

"The weather and facilities are sure to be superb and we are all relishing the opportunity of getting down to work on the Algarve."

The mini-tournament, known also as the Torneio do Guadiana started in 2001 and prior to 2011 featured two Portuguese team plus at least one foreign entrant (in 2005 and 2009 the tournament was extended to two foreign teams).

However between 2010 and 2012, only one Portuguese team has entered allowing the likes of fellow Premier League teams Aston Villa and Newcastle to take part.

Tickets for all three games will be available on the day, priced at €12.50 (approximately £11). Alternatively you can book your seats via the web here.

Torneio do Guadiana: history
All teams Portuguese unless otherwise indicated.

2012: Winners - Newcastle Utd (EN); 2nd - Olympiakos (GR); 3rd - Braga.

2011: Winners - Benfica/Anderlecht (BE); 3rd - Paris St Germain (FR).

2010: Winners - Benfica; 2nd - Aston Villa (EN); 3rd - Feyenoord (HO).

2009: Winners - Benfica; 2nd - Olhanense; 3rd - Anderlecht (BE); 4th - Athletic Bilbao (SP).

2008: Winners - Sporting; 2nd - Blackburn Rovers (EN); 3rd - Benfica.

2007: Winners - Benfica; 2nd - Real Betis (SP); 3rd - Sporting.

2006: Winners - Sporting; 2nd -Deportivo La Coruña (SP); 3rd - Benfica.

2005: Winners - Sporting; 2nd - Vitória de Setúbal; 3rd - Middlesbrough (EN); 4th - Real Betis (SP).

2004: Winners - Real Betis (SP); 2nd - Benfica.

2003: Winners - Belenenses; 2nd - Benfica.

2002: Winners - Benfica; 2nd - Vitória de Setúbal.

2001: Winners - Vitória de Guimarães; 2nd - Farense; 3rd - Seville (SP).

Related News

   arrow   Hammers return to Portugal [31st Jul 2013]

Your Comments

Please note that this section is for comments relating to the above news item only. Any off-topic or abusive posts will be removed. Posts including either links and/or foul language are automatically filtered and will not be published. To engage in further discussion on any of our news stories, visit the KUMB Forums.

Not a member of the KUMB Forums? You may register for free membership here.

comments powered by Disqus
News Image

On This Day ...

One Year Ago
Stoke City 0-3 West Ham Utd
It's taken 17 games and four months to get there, but West Ham finally have...more
Three Years Ago
The KUMB West Ham Podcast: with Iain Dale
This week's guest on the award-winning Knees up Mother Brown West Ham Podcast is publisher, broadcas...more
Five Years Ago
Oops, they did it again
Tottenham Hotspur supporters have been asked to refrain from sending an American freelance writer an...more