Cuenca 'ammer wrote:interestingly enough there has been no retrospective ban given to him, so obviously it's not just you and me who thinks it was a spot kick...
Are they still doing that this season, though?
They didn't seem to bother with most of the incidents last season, and when they did I still thought two of the three reached the wrong conclusion - ie it wasn't clearly wrongly
The FA had the rule all wrong. The blatant divers still made their dives, the refs just didn't fall for those in the first place. But nonetheless, due to the way the rule was applied, those divers got away with it to try again and again until it could have changed a match - of course, the panel would then have been able to retrospectively punish the player but that wouldn't change the outcome for the team.
Also the punishments were disproportionate - going down easy from contact = minimum two match ban. Diving from no contact = yellow card at most.