sendô wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:51 am
I don't get it.
You wouldn't give it handball anywhere else on the pitch, so why for a goal?
The principle behind it is that if a goal is scored because a handball has taken place then that is a big penalty for the opposing team. In order to do away with interpretation over such an impactful decision the law was changed so, in theory, there is no ambiguity. It is either handball or not
What they had in mind [imho] was those occasions when an attacking player may accidentally handle it in the penalty when controlling the ball, or it hits a strikers arm accidentally and goes in. In theory, under the old law that shouldn't be penalised [even though the attacking teams gets a massive advantage] but obviously hard to tell what is deliberate or not, and so there was never consistency in the decisions given
The trouble with the new law is that it extends to situations that happen a long way from the goal during the attacking phase of play, and there still seems to be loads of ambiguity and interpretation about what a phase of play is! Also, if Rice had passed it to someone else who then passed it to Snodgrass, would that have been disallowed?
AS someone else said, the law could be changed so that 'accidental' handball is only penalised if it takes place in the attacking penalty box, and VAR can only act on hand ball incidents in the penalty box. this would rule out the Antonio one at Chelsea, but that was the right thing to do IMHO. You shouldn't be able to score with your hand, accidental or not! Antonio v SAints or Rice v Sheff U would not be ruled out [unless the on-field ref thought it was deliberate and call it on the field of play ]