What Size Monitor ?

Forum for discussion related to video gaming on both current gen and retro platforms.

Moderators: bristolhammerfc, the pink palermo, chalks, Gnome, last.caress, Wilko1304, Rio

Post Reply
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

Hi Guys ,

I realise everyone's set-up , distance from chair to monitor will be different but I was looking for a bit of guidance as to what size , hz , brand of monitor I should buy for my boy to go with his PC .

At the moment he's using an old 21" LG monitor I bought years ago but never bothered getting out of the box .

He sits quite close to the monitor and I was thinking maybe 27" would be big enough though I wouldn't discount 32" , should I go bigger ?

Hz is something I'm unaware of - maybe 165hz ??


Brand - I'm looking at AOC , Lenovo , Samsung , Philips but anything really .


Should I be looking at monitors with an USB hub or just buy an Amazon Basics for a tenner - do I need one even ?


Would appreciate any / all input .

Cheers . :newthumb:
User avatar
Metal Hammer
Posts: 6289
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: The Beast from the East is Rising
Has liked: 1276 likes
Total likes: 1045 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by Metal Hammer »

Hi TOMOS, I'm not sure there is an easy answer to this as there is no 'one size fits all'. It depends on the sort of games he is playing etc but here is an old PC World guide which will hopefully answer some of your questions: https://www.pcworld.com/article/393747/ ... atter.html
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

You've got a fair amount to think about here:

Panel size
Number & type of inputs
Refresh rate
Brightness (and HDR capability)
Need speakers?
Colour gamut
Panel technology (VA/TN/IPS/OLED)
Pixel response times

Might be easier to set a budget, and work to that, else you're risking getting stuck in "analysis paralysis" as you try to comprehend which of the options to target.

What hardware is he playing games on? Matching something to a PS5 or Xbox Series console will be more straightforward than to a PC, depending upon what specs he's got. Also, which games/game types does he play? If it's just for minecraft, the requirements will be different than for competitive multiplayer games or whatever.
User avatar
Hummer_I_mean_Hammer
Posts: 11866
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:45 pm
Has liked: 985 likes
Total likes: 511 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by Hummer_I_mean_Hammer »

Dan, why not simply post "I don't know..." :winker:
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

Hummer_I_mean_Hammer wrote: Thu Dec 07, 2023 1:53 pm Dan, why not simply post "I don't know..." :winker:
Meant to say “I can help, but it’s not necessarily a straightforward choice”
User avatar
Up the Junction
Thinks he owns the place
Posts: 71645
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:03 am
Has liked: 821 likes
Total likes: 3738 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by Up the Junction »

Great post from Dan.

I would say go as big as your budget will allow, ToMOS.

My office PC runs 3x 27" screens (2x Gigabyte, 1x Dell), our TV is a 65" 4k LG on which the PS is hooked up to.

The former is great for driving games (I run 1440p), though I prefer playing first/third person titles on the bigger screen.
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

Thanks , chaps , very much appreciated . :newthumb:

Got a bit going on just now and I almost forgot I'd posted this !! :grin:

He's got a wall mounted TV for his Xbox - the monitor is for his PC .

I'll get a list of PC games off him tomorrow .

Was going to click on a 27" AOC tonight then Jen said ' Why not get a 32" ? ' ...
User avatar
hammer etc
Posts: 2846
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:37 pm
Has liked: 5 likes
Total likes: 133 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by hammer etc »

An ultra wide can be good for gaming.
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

The Old Man of Storr wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 9:35 pm Thanks , chaps , very much appreciated . :newthumb:

Got a bit going on just now and I almost forgot I'd posted this !! :grin:

He's got a wall mounted TV for his Xbox - the monitor is for his PC .

I'll get a list of PC games off him tomorrow .

Was going to click on a 27" AOC tonight then Jen said ' Why not get a 32" ? ' ...
Can you get a rough list of PC specs, too? CPU/GPU & RAM should be enough to have a reasonable stab at working out how much horsepower is there to move pixels. Might be worth considering a 1440p monitor if there's enough grunt to run at that resolution.
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

dasnutnock3 wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2023 10:25 am Can you get a rough list of PC specs, too? CPU/GPU & RAM should be enough to have a reasonable stab at working out how much horsepower is there to move pixels. Might be worth considering a 1440p monitor if there's enough grunt to run at that resolution.
Hi Dan ,
Apologies for the late reply , mate and I honestly appreciate your input , thank you . :newthumb:

I went ahead with gut instinct and bought an AOC - 27" , IPS , 1440p - 165hz - cost £260 .

He wanted something called an Audio Interface kit with microphone etc for voice recording as well so had to budget accordingly .

Whatever I got was going to be better than what he has .


Thanks again .
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

Can’t imagine that’ll be anything other than a massive upgrade. Nice spec, good manufacturer etc 👍
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

dasnutnock3 wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 11:24 am Can’t imagine that’ll be anything other than a massive upgrade. Nice spec, good manufacturer etc 👍
Cheers , mate -

I was leaning towards UTJ's suggestion of Gigabyte but went with the AOC -

There were some reviews describing AOC as a budget brand but that was about the money I wanted to spend - I nearly went with a cheaper 1080 [ £159 ] but chose this one as it had better resolution . Was very quick to arrive .

He used to be an Xbox lad so we got him one of those Xbox Series X consoles either last Christmas or the one before that but then he got interested in PC Gaming - I wanted to buy him a computer from PC Specialist but he wasn't prepared to wait so his sister suggested this HP 1TB + 256 GB SSD to him and he went with that - it broke down within 6 months but they fixed it and we upgraded the hard drive for him . It's been fine since , gets used every day for hours - he'll still play Xbox but not as often .
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

Hi Guys ,

Sorry to bother you with this -

I left it a bit late in getting the monitor out of its box - we've been a bit busy with a variety of things but it's really all down to laziness mostly - anyway I tried connecting the blooming thing today and while it powers up and shows a screen saver it's not connecting to the computer [ black screen ] - it came with a new HDMI lead and I tried a different lead with no luck .

There was a cd with it , should I run that first or is it irrelevant ?

Am I doing something wrong - the other [ cheaper ] monitor works fine ?


Thanks in advance .
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

Have you got anything else you could hook it up to? DVD player or a blu ray or something like that?
User avatar
Jonah
Posts: 5385
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 3:39 pm
Location: Somewhere stuck between joyful and peachy
Has liked: 620 likes
Total likes: 548 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by Jonah »

Are there any menu buttons to bring up input selection ToMoS?

I'm presuming the screen will auto sense the HDMI but you never know if there are a number of inputs. Was it brand new? if not, maybe a factory reset.

Other than that, what D said......or maybe.....see if there are any AOC drivers needed for that model of monitor?
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

Thanks , Guys -I'll try attaching it to my laptop tomorrow - it's completely new - came with a CD - Was my wife and son who tried fitting it , I'll get more involved tomorrow . The CD shouldn't be needed for drivers or installation should it ? It's just lead from monitor to computer isn't it ?

I'll report back either way , thank you :newthumb:
User avatar
dasnutnock3
Posts: 7065
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 12:38 pm
Has liked: 1940 likes
Total likes: 2576 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by dasnutnock3 »

Shouldn't need additional drivers, no.
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

So , I went up to my lad's bedroom to try to sort things out and as with yesterday the computer wasn't connecting to the monitor but I then unplugged his soundbar and lo & behold we have a connection - there's Windows and his Gaming stuff but NO SOUND !! Hmmmm .

The Monitor is suppose to have speakers of its own but so far there's no sound .


Any advice most gratefully accepted . :grin:
Online
User avatar
The Old Man of Storr
Posts: 33593
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:17 am
Location: Lost In the Recesses Of My Mind .
Has liked: 2858 likes
Total likes: 1947 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by The Old Man of Storr »

Ok , sorted - not sure what we did but it worked - went to Display and I think it thought the Soundbar was the Monitor so we added a device and BOOM there was noise.....phew .

Still don't know what I did . :grin:
User avatar
Metal Hammer
Posts: 6289
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: The Beast from the East is Rising
Has liked: 1276 likes
Total likes: 1045 likes

Re: What Size Monitor ?

Post by Metal Hammer »

The Old Man of Storr wrote: Fri Jan 12, 2024 5:23 pm Ok , sorted - not sure what we did but it worked - went to Display and I think it thought the Soundbar was the Monitor so we added a device and BOOM there was noise.....phew .

Still don't know what I did . :grin:
I expect it was the old 'wipe your knob on the screen' trick!
Post Reply