First Team Squad

Player profile and performance records.

Fabian Balbuena (Defender)

Image

Fabian Balbuena

Ciudad del Este, Paraguay
Squad Number: 4
Position: Defender
Born: 23rd Aug 1991 (Ciudad del Este, Paraguay)
Signed: 14th Jul 2018 (£4,000,000)
Contract: 3 years
Previous Club: Corinthians

KUMB Awards: Best Signing (third place) 2018/19.

After three seasons at the club, Balbuena was allowed to leave on a free transfer after the club failed to offer him a contract extension.

He signed a four-year contract with Dynamo Moscow on 9 July 2021.

 

vs Southampton

3-0: Sunday, 23rd May

Did not play.

vs West Bromwich Albion

3-1: Wednesday, 19th May

Did not play.

vs Brighton & Hove Albion

1-1: Saturday, 15th May

Did not play.

vs Burnley

2-1: Saturday, 1st May

Did not play.

vs Chelsea

0-1: Saturday, 24th April
(Played 90 minutes)

After his premeditated assault on a Big Six player, we can only assume sanctions will be in place to protect the best players from such animals. He was relatively fine, a bit calmer on the ball than usual. He and Diop both looked uncomfortable with Chelsea forcing them wide, but they were rarely exposed. Needs to work on his footwork, apparently.

vs Newcastle United

2-3: Saturday, 17th April

Did not play.

vs Leicester City

3-2: Sunday, 11th April
(Played 37 minutes, sub)

(Replaced Cresswell, 53) A couple good clearances, but then a little poor on the second goal and sloppy knocking the ball out of Fabianski?EUR(TM)s hands earlier.

vs Wolverhampton Wanderers

3-2: Monday, 5th April

Did not play.

vs Arsenal

3-3: Saturday, 20th March

Did not play.

vs Manchester United

0-1: Sunday, 14th March

Did not play.

vs Leeds United

2-0: Monday, 8th March

Did not play.

vs Manchester City

1-2: Saturday, 27th February

Did not play.

vs Tottenham Hotspur

2-1: Saturday, 20th February

Did not play.

vs Fulham

0-0: Saturday, 6th February

Did not play.

vs Aston Villa

3-1: Wednesday, 3rd February

Did not play.

vs Liverpool

1-3: Sunday, 31st January

Did not play. Other unused subs: Manuel Lanzini, Ademipo Odubeko.

vs Crystal Palace

3-2: Tuesday, 26th January

Did not play.

vs Doncaster Rovers

4-0: Saturday, 23rd January
(Played 90 minutes)

Rarely bothered, dealt with most things calmly.

vs West Bromwich Albion

2-1: Tuesday, 19th January

Did not play. Also unused: Issa Diop, Frederik Alves.

vs Everton

1-0: Friday, 1st January

Did not play.

vs Brighton & Hove Albion

2-2: Saturday, 26th December
(Played 90 minutes)

Reasonably solid and has really improved in how he will step out of defence to pressure players or take the ball. They will be disappointed that both Brighton goals came from balls into the box from wide areas, a strength earlier in the season that now seems to be a weakness to expose.

vs Chelsea

0-3: Monday, 21st December
(Played 90 minutes)

Solid, unspectacular and reasonably solid.

vs Leeds United

2-1: Friday, 11th December
(Played 90 minutes)

Was unlucky not to end with two goals, whilst he was defensively solid too. Must relax on the ball, but also know not to try passes in danger just because he feels he must. That all being said, both he and Ogbonna allowed players to get in the space between them and it nearly cost the side. The penalty was first, but Rodrigo should have punished them late on with his header.

vs Manchester United

1-3: Saturday, 5th December
(Played 90 minutes)

Balbuena had an excellent first half and controlled his channel with aggressive front foot defending. Exposed for pace by Rashford.

vs Aston Villa

2-1: Saturday, 28th November
(Played 90 minutes)

Maybe should have gone out for the Grealish goal and blocked earlier, but otherwise you would say he did his job well and Fabianski was protected.

vs Sheffield United

1-0: Sunday, 22nd November
(Played 90 minutes)

In control throughout and his composure grows and grows with his settled game time. One worry would be McBurnie finding the space behind him for the big chance.

vs Fulham

1-0: Saturday, 7th November
(Played 90 minutes)

Defended calmly and wasn?EUR(TM)t really involved in any of the chances. Would have been rightly aggrieved had the freekick he gave away been converted; the studs were high and aggressive at him and should have been punished.

vs Liverpool

1-2: Saturday, 31st October
(Played 90 minutes)

Staunch defending, although he may be a little upset to be the man nutmegged for the winning goal. It appears the rhythm of a run in the side has given him his sharpness back and he looks much more the defender from his first season.

vs Manchester City

1-1: Saturday, 24th October
(Played 90 minutes)

One of his best performances. Considering the opposition, he looked composed and dealt with the pace of Sterling around him well.

vs Tottenham Hotspur

3-3: Sunday, 18th October
(Played 90 minutes)

With how poorly he started, and knowing his place is far from secure, he recovered very well to gain composure in defence. And that header was perfect.

vs Leicester City

3-0: Sunday, 4th October
(Played 90 minutes)

Put him in a back five and he becomes a composed. Defensive basics nailed, he starts the move for the first goal with a lovely pass down the line.

vs Everton

1-4: Wednesday, 30th September
(Played 90 minutes)

Another not really tested, a couple hesitations were a worry but Hull offered nothing to bother him.

vs Hull City

5-1: Tuesday, 22nd September
(Played 90 minutes)

Another not really tested, a couple hesitations were a worry but Hull offered nothing to bother him.

vs Charlton Athletic

3-0: Tuesday, 15th September
(Played 90 minutes)

Sloppy and sometimes hazardous. Not sure where the player from his first season has gone.

vs Newcastle United

0-2: Saturday, 12th September

Did not play.

vs Brentford

2-1: Saturday, 29th August
(Played 90 minutes)

One of the better defensive players on show today, although the bar hadn't been set particularly high.

vs Ipswich Town

4-1: Tuesday, 25th August
(Played 90 minutes)

n/a

Aston Villa

1-1: Sunday, 26th July

Did not play.

Manchester United

1-1: Wednesday, 22nd July

Did not play.

Watford

3-1: Friday, 17th July

(Replaced Antonio) He had nothing to do.

Norwich City

4-0: Saturday, 11th July

(Replaced Ogbonna) Came on for a few minutes, saw the job over the line. Clean sheet.

Burnley

0-1: Wednesday, 8th July

Did not play.

Chelsea

3-2: Wednesday, 1st July

(Replaced Fornals) On for moments and touched the ball once.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-2: Tuesday, 23rd June

Individually, he wasn’t too bad. But the defence does appear worse with him in it.

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-2: Saturday, 20th June

Did not play.

Southampton

3-1: Saturday, 29th February

Did not play.

Manchester City

0-2: Wednesday, 19th February

Did not play.

Brighton & Hove Albion

3-3: Saturday, 1st February

Did not play.

Liverpool

0-2: Wednesday, 29th January

Did not play.

West Bromwich Albion

0-1: Saturday, 25th January

Busy and frequently in the right place to win a header or stick out a foot, whenever the Gills threatened.

Sheffield United

0-1: Friday, 10th January

Was playing well until the mistake. It was a bad pass by Martin, but Balbeuna should be able to at least adjust a little, whilst looking away when the ball is coming was not smart.

Gillingham

2-0: Sunday, 5th January

Busy and frequently in the right place to win a header or stick out a foot, whenever the Gills threatened.

Southampton

1-0: Saturday, 14th December

Back to the form of last season. Wins a lot in the air and is happy in backs-to-the-wall performances.

Arsenal

1-3: Saturday, 7th December

Defence was ripped apart on the times it was tested.

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-2: Wednesday, 4th December

Wildly over-committed for the second goal, but generally solid and was left exposed by the counter for it. Passing forward was woeful, but he made a lot of blocks and clearances.

Newcastle United

2-3: Saturday, 2nd November

A woeful first half where he looked amateurish was saved by a second half with two vital last-man interventions and a goal. Still, he shouldn’t be playing ahead of Ogbonna, who is our only dominant aerial defender and would not have been so easily beaten by Joelinton.

Sheffield United

1-1: Saturday, 26th October

No wildly notable change in quality with Ogbonna replaced. But the defence was lucky not to be punished further.

Crystal Palace

1-2: Saturday, 5th October

Did not play.

Bournemouth

2-2: Saturday, 28th September

Did not play.

Oxford United

0-4: Wednesday, 25th September

Back in the side but not for long, judging by this performance. His marking was appalling.

Manchester United

2-0: Sunday, 22nd September

Did not play.

Aston Villa

0-0: Monday, 16th September

(Replaced Noble) Nothing to do in his 90 seconds on the pitch.

Norwich City

2-0: Saturday, 31st August

Did not play.

Newport County

2-0: Tuesday, 27th August

Defended well, in general, making a good number of clearances.

Watford

3-1: Saturday, 24th August

Did not play.

Brighton & Hove Albion

1-1: Saturday, 17th August

Did not play.

Manchester City

0-5: Saturday, 10th August

Maybe his worst game for West Ham. Not helped that the enduring image will be the averagely paced De Bruyne burning away from him like a Ferreri against mobility scooter.

Athletico Bilbao

2-2: Saturday, 3rd August

Good to see him back alongside Diop. Despite conceding twice, the Hammers look more solid as a result.

Hertha Berlin

5-3: Wednesday, 31st July

An untimely slip at a vital moment was responsible for one of Herth'a goals. Otherwise reasonably tidy.

Watford

4-1: Sunday, 12th May

All these points have aligned with his return to the side. Easily the best defender at the club. 15 clearances in this game. 15.

Leicester City

2-2: Saturday, 20th April

Some decent defending was let down by switching off for the Vardy goal.

Chelsea

0-2: Monday, 8th April

Returned from injury with little sign of rust. The best defender of the set, even if a little less sharp on the ball. Could be the man to steady the ship.

Everton

0-2: Saturday, 30th March

Did not play.

Cardiff City

0-2: Saturday, 9th March

Did not play.

Cardiff City

0-2: Saturday, 9th March

Did not play.

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-3: Tuesday, 29th January

Did not play.

Bournemouth

0-2: Saturday, 19th January

Did not play.

Arsenal

1-0: Saturday, 12th January

Did not play.

Brighton & Hove Albion

2-2: Wednesday, 2nd January

Did not play.

Burnley

0-2: Sunday, 30th December

Did not play.

Southampton

2-1: Thursday, 27th December

Did not play.

Watford

0-2: Saturday, 22nd December

Did not play.

Fulham

2-0: Saturday, 15th December

Did not play.

Crystal Palace

3-2: Saturday, 8th December

Good to see him back, but the criticism of the goals conceded applies to him too.

Cardiff City

3-1: Tuesday, 4th December

Did not play.

Newcastle United

3-0: Saturday, 1st December

Outshone a little by Diop, but The General is earning that nickname.

Manchester City

0-4: Saturday, 24th November

Another who didn’t play badly, but conceded four goals. Should Sane have been so free in the middle?

Huddersfield Town

1-1: Saturday, 10th November

Calm and assured, as he is making a habit of being.

Burnley

4-2: Saturday, 3rd November

Solid and assured, as he's proving to be nearly every week.

Tottenham Hotspur

1-3: Wednesday, 31st October

Leicester City

1-1: Saturday, 27th October

Outstanding in defence. It took two bites of the cherry but The General has his first goal. Loses a point for not celebrating suitably.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-1: Saturday, 20th October

Brighton & Hove Albion

0-1: Friday, 5th October

Manchester United

3-1: Saturday, 29th September

Wonderful performance - read the game brilliantly. His trademark appears to be stepping in front of an opponent to nip the ball away, which he did with aplomb again today.

Macclesfield Town

8-0: Wednesday, 26th September

Chelsea

0-0: Sunday, 23rd September

An equally-strong performance from our other central defender who, at one point, found himself in the Chelsea penalty area as a supportive striker. He was quite literally everywhere.

Everton

3-1: Sunday, 16th September

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-1: Saturday, 1st September

AFC Wimbledon

3-1: Tuesday, 28th August

'The General' also endured a difficult start to his Hammers career, ebing caught flat-footed on occasions and slightly off the pace during others. It will take time to adjust to the frenetic nature of Premier League football and higher grade.

Arsenal

1-3: Saturday, 25th August

Just about the better of our defensive twosome.

Bournemouth

1-2: Saturday, 18th August

Last week this column remarked that it will take time for The General to adjust to the frenetic nature of Premier League football and step up in quality. That applies once again.

Liverpool

0-4: Sunday, 12th August

'The General' also endured a difficult start to his Hammers career, ebing caught flat-footed on occasions and slightly off the pace during others. It will take time to adjust to the frenetic nature of Premier League football and higher grade.
Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.

Fabian Balbuena did not play for West Ham during this season.