First Team Squad

Player profile and performance records.

Gary O Neil (Midfielder)

Image

Gary O Neil

London
Squad Number: 32
Position: Midfielder
Born: 18th May 1983 (London)
Signed: 25th Jan 2011 (£1,500,000)
Contract: 2½ years
Previous Club: Middlesbrough

KUMB Awards: Best Signing (third place) 2010/11.

 

Gary O Neil is yet play any matches this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Everton

0-2: Sunday, 12th May

Comments to follow...

Newcastle United

0-0: Saturday, 4th May

The odd interception here and there but a bit wayward with the passing.

Manchester City

1-2: Saturday, 27th April

Comments to follow...

Wigan Athletic

2-0: Saturday, 20th April

Continued the good work of recent weeks but was tiring before his eventual replacement by Noble.

Manchester United

2-2: Wednesday, 17th April

Another splendid runout. I was slightly surprised that he came off for Noble Ė I think on current form Iíd start him.

Southampton

1-1: Saturday, 13th April

Comments to follow...

Tottenham Hotspur

2-3: Monday, 25th February

A lot of snapping and harrying but went missing a couple of times at crucial moments.

Swansea City

1-0: Saturday, 2nd February

(Replaced Diame, 86)
Bolstered the midfield from a defensive point of view for the last few minutes.

Norwich City

2-1: Tuesday, 1st January

(Replaced O'Brien, 71)
Did ok. One lovely dummy in a sweeping move that sadly came to naught.

Everton

1-2: Saturday, 22nd December

Decent solid performance, especiallg given that he was about ď80%Ē fit.

Chelsea

3-1: Saturday, 1st December

Like Tomkins he was largely anonymous in the first half. Removed to allow us extra width.

Manchester City

0-0: Saturday, 3rd November

(Replaced Diame, 71)
Harried and snapped around the City midfield and generally made it difficult for them.

Wigan Athletic

1-2: Saturday, 27th October

(Replaced Diame, 73)
His main contribution was not being Diame, who by that stage was a liability.

Fulham

3-0: Saturday, 1st September

Did not play.

Fulham

3-0: Saturday, 1st September

Did not play.

Blackpool

2-1: Saturday, 19th May

Quietly effective before being sacrificed to stop the threat of Ince.

Cardiff City

3-0: Monday, 7th May

Another fine performance and one which would have been nicely capped if either or both of his efforts on goal had gone in.

Cardiff City

2-0: Thursday, 3rd May

It had looked as if he'd miss this one having been poleaxed last weekend in the game against Hull by a shocking challenge. West Ham have been a better side with him in it during the last few weeks, of that there's no doubt - and so it proved again.

Hull City

2-1: Saturday, 28th April

Has looked fairly decent in recent weeks and itís to be hoped that the disgraceful challenge from Evans hasnít done him damage serious enough to keep him out of the side to keep him out of the playoff side.

Brighton & Hove Albion

6-0: Saturday, 14th April

Continues to improve to the sort of form that we were hoping for before that injury. Hopefully his withdrawal was just a way of giving him a rest in advance of the midweek fixture.

Reading

2-4: Saturday, 31st March

With Noble he bossed the first half. Found it a bit more difficult to do so in the second half when having to do it on his own.

Leeds United

1-1: Saturday, 17th March

(Replaced Tomkins, 46)
Battled well in the second half but like many other struggled to have an impact on the game in an attacking sense.

Doncaster Rovers

1-1: Saturday, 10th March

(Replaced Lansbury, 57)
No discernible influence on proceedings.

Doncaster Rovers

1-1: Saturday, 10th March

(Replaced Lansbury, 57)
Came on for Henri Lansbury and was just as ineffective as the man he replaced.

Watford

1-1: Wednesday, 7th March

Did not play.

Cardiff City

2-0: Sunday, 4th March

(Replaced Lansbury, 75)
Can't remember him having much influence during the short time he was on.

Crystal Palace

0-0: Saturday, 25th February

(Replaced Vaz Te, 58)
Not sure quite what he was supposed to bring to the proceedings but he failed to produce it anyway.

Blackpool

4-1: Wednesday, 22nd February

(Replaced Faye, 66)
Took his goal extremely well. Always does a job when he comes on, gets himself about and tidy on the ball.

Southampton

1-1: Tuesday, 14th February

(Replaced Vaz Te, 71)
Got about the pitch well in the final twenty minutes and was the fresh legs we needed to make sure we saw out a draw.

Millwall

2-1: Saturday, 4th February

(Replaced Faubert, 80)
Given ten to provide a more defensive right side of midfield.

Millwall

2-1: Saturday, 4th February

(Replaced Faubert, 80)
No time to really have an impact but made a couple of decent tackles late on.

Portsmouth

1-0: Saturday, 14th January

Did not play.

Derby County

1-2: Saturday, 31st December

A couple of development squad matches after eight months isnít really much preparation for a proper match. Another who wouldnít have been included if things had been different.

Aston Villa

1-2: Saturday, 16th April

Fighting a losing battle in midfield up to the point when he got that horrible-looking knock.

Bolton Wanderers

0-3: Saturday, 9th April

Did not play.

Manchester United

2-4: Saturday, 2nd April

Comments to follow.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-0: Saturday, 19th March

A lot of hard work but occasionally took the wrong decision going forward.

Birmingham City

1-3: Wednesday, 26th January

(Replaced Boa Morte, 83 mins) Comments to follow.
Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.

Gary O Neil did not play for West Ham during this season.