First Team Squad

Player profile and performance records.

Guy Demel (Defender)

Image

Guy Demel

Orsay, France
Squad Number: 20
Position: Defender
Born: 13th Jun 1981 (Orsay, France)
Signed: 23rd Jan 2013 (£0)
Contract: 1 year extension (signed Jan 2013)
Previous Club: SV Hamburg

KUMB Awards: None.

Profile to follow...

 

Guy Demel is yet play any matches this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Birkirkara

1-0: Thursday, 16th July

Did not play.

FC Lusitanos

3-0: Thursday, 2nd July

Did not play.

Newcastle United

0-2: Sunday, 24th May

Did not play.

Everton

1-2: Saturday, 16th May

Did not play.

Manchester City

0-2: Sunday, 19th April

Did not play.

Stoke City

1-1: Saturday, 11th April

Did not play.

Leicester City

1-2: Saturday, 4th April

Did not play.

Sunderland

1-0: Saturday, 21st March

Did not play.

Arsenal

0-3: Saturday, 14th March

Did not play.

Chelsea

0-1: Wednesday, 4th March

Did not play.

Crystal Palace

1-3: Saturday, 28th February

Did not play.

Tottenham Hotspur

2-2: Sunday, 22nd February

Did not play.

West Bromwich Albion

0-4: Saturday, 14th February

Did not play.

Liverpool

0-2: Saturday, 31st January

(replaced Nolan) Thrown in as a third centre-half, I can't recall him touching the ball.

Bristol City

1-0: Sunday, 25th January

(replaced Nolan) Thrown in as a third centre-half, I can't recall him touching the ball.

Everton

1-1: Tuesday, 6th January

Did not play.

Everton

1-1: Tuesday, 6th January

Did not play.

Arsenal

1-2: Sunday, 28th December

Replaced the tiring Joey with only a few minutes to go.

West Bromwich Albion

2-1: Tuesday, 2nd December

Did not play.

West Bromwich Albion

2-1: Tuesday, 2nd December

Did not play.

Newcastle United

1-0: Saturday, 29th November

Did not play.

Newcastle United

1-0: Saturday, 29th November

Did not play.

Liverpool

3-1: Saturday, 20th September

Got forward well first half. Reasonbly solid defensively in the second.

Liverpool

3-1: Saturday, 20th September

A typically solid Demel performance was epitomised in the 15th minute when he stole the ball from Borini, turned full circle (which Paul Walker hates!) and fed it up the touchline.

Hull City

2-2: Monday, 15th September

You can make a very good case it should have been Sakho, but my Man of the Match.

Southampton

1-3: Saturday, 30th August

Did not play.

Southampton

1-3: Saturday, 30th August

Did not play.

Sheffield United

1-1: Tuesday, 26th August

Crystal Palace

3-1: Saturday, 23rd August

Did not play.

Crystal Palace

3-1: Saturday, 23rd August

Did not play.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-1: Saturday, 16th August

(Replaced O'Brien) As unspectacular as O'Brien, who he had replaced had been.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-1: Saturday, 16th August

(Replaced O'Brien) Was two steps too far back, playing Dier onside for the goal, but otherwise defended well enough & tried to get forward in support of Downing.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-1: Saturday, 16th August

(Replaced O'Brien) Was two steps too far back, playing Dier onside for the goal, but otherwise defended well enough & tried to get forward in support of Downing.

Sampdoria

3-2: Saturday, 9th August

Malaga

0-2: Sunday, 3rd August

Schalke

0-0: Saturday, 2nd August

Sydney FC

1-3: Saturday, 26th July

Wellington Phoenix

1-2: Wednesday, 23rd July

Ipswich Town

0-0: Wednesday, 16th July

Stevenage FC

2-2: Saturday, 12th July

Manchester City

0-2: Sunday, 11th May

Tottenham Hotspur

2-0: Saturday, 3rd May

Spurs' lack of attacking threat allowed him to get forward to good effect.

Tottenham Hotspur

2-0: Saturday, 3rd May

Wasn't overly troubled in defence, was dangerous working forward, including more than one good chance to score. If he were 5 years younger, we'd be sorted up the right for several seasons, with him and Downing working well together.

West Bromwich Albion

0-1: Saturday, 26th April

Solid enough performance on his return.

Arsenal

1-3: Tuesday, 15th April

Had a very good game, I thought. Peach of a pass to pick out Nocerino for our goal.

Liverpool

1-2: Sunday, 6th April

Has been a bit average in the last couple of games but, one error aside, had a good game today, offensively and defensively. Took his goal well; a definite MoM candidate.

Sunderland

2-1: Monday, 31st March

Solid game all night, the highlight being the closing down of Borini on 70, making him screw a shot wide.

Hull City

2-1: Wednesday, 26th March

Much as he was against Man Utd, adequate if a little below his own decent average.

Manchester United

0-2: Saturday, 22nd March

Solid defensively, but a bit wayward with his distribution.

Stoke City

1-3: Saturday, 15th March

Everton

0-1: Saturday, 1st March

Showed what a reliable defender he is yet again. Stood up well a couple of times when he might have dived in.

Southampton

3-1: Saturday, 22nd February

Basically sound but there were a few worryingly wayward passes that invited pressure.

Southampton

3-1: Saturday, 22nd February

Unspectacular (which is going to be a theme here...)

Norwich City

2-0: Tuesday, 11th February

Not one of his better games, but got away with getting beaten a couple of times...

Aston Villa

2-0: Saturday, 8th February

Rock solid again. He did make one or two small errors, as he has done from time to time this season. Gave away a dangerous free kick on 78 minutes, but also cleared it. He won't get Hammer of the Year, but if there was a special award for dogged consistency, I reckon he'd be in with a real good shout!

Swansea City

2-0: Saturday, 1st February

Not given much to do defensively in the first half whe he got forward well. Had a lot of covering to do after Flores' maiming but tracked his men well.

Swansea City

2-0: Saturday, 1st February

His usual hard working, dependable self. Defended well, got forward well, too.

Cardiff City

2-0: Saturday, 11th January

Injured early on.

Fulham

1-2: Wednesday, 1st January

Gave the ball away too much in a series of panicky clearances.

Tottenham Hotspur

2-1: Wednesday, 18th December

Did not play.

Tottenham Hotspur

2-1: Wednesday, 18th December

Did not play.

Sunderland

0-0: Saturday, 14th December

A solid game.

Sunderland

0-0: Saturday, 14th December

Looked a little off the pace – possibly as a result of the unspecified illness from which he spent the week .

Liverpool

1-4: Saturday, 7th December

An own goal and responsible (partly) for another. Not his greatest day.

Crystal Palace

0-1: Tuesday, 3rd December

Did not play.

Crystal Palace

0-1: Tuesday, 3rd December

Did not play.

Chelsea

0-3: Saturday, 23rd November

A good run in the second half but it was his blunder that allowed Oscar's dive to take place.

Chelsea

0-3: Saturday, 23rd November

Has skill – but defensive error cost us.

Norwich City

1-3: Saturday, 9th November

Supported the attack well before the break but rarely got forward in the second half. Made a couple of important blocks to deny Norwich.

Aston Villa

0-0: Saturday, 2nd November

Another excellent game from one of our unsung heroes. Defended calmly and confidently, but really came into his own as an attacking force.

Aston Villa

0-0: Saturday, 2nd November

A bit patchy but defensively at least he looked pretty sound.

Aston Villa

0-0: Saturday, 2nd November

Some endeavour shown.

Swansea City

0-0: Sunday, 27th October

Had a good game but should perhaps have scored with a heder from a corner.

Manchester City

1-3: Saturday, 19th October

Stuck to his task well before hobbling off in the second half.

Tottenham Hotspur

3-0: Sunday, 6th October

A solid game.

Hull City

0-1: Saturday, 28th September

Did not play.

Southampton

0-0: Saturday, 14th September

Played well – went off injured.

Stoke City

0-1: Saturday, 31st August

Ok first half but struggled against Pennant when stripped of the protection afforded to him by Downing.

Newcastle United

0-0: Saturday, 24th August

Solid performance, not a lot to write home about.

Cardiff City

2-0: Saturday, 17th August

Not much to do defensively and he contributed well on the attacking side of things. Some nice signs of a proper understanding with Cole beginning to develop.

Cardiff City

2-0: Saturday, 17th August

Not much to do defensively and he contributed well on the attacking side of things. Some nice signs of a proper understanding with Cole beginning to develop.

Pacos de Ferreira

2-1: Saturday, 10th August

Comments to follow...

Colchester United

2-1: Tuesday, 16th July

Comments to follow...

AFC Bournemouth

2-0: Saturday, 13th July

Comments to follow...

Boreham Wood

3-0: Wednesday, 10th July

Comments to follow...

Cork City

6-2: Sunday, 7th July

Comments to follow.

Reading

4-2: Sunday, 19th May

Went a bit AWOL early in the second half but otherwise a steady 90 minutes.

Everton

0-2: Sunday, 12th May

Comments to follow...

Newcastle United

0-0: Saturday, 4th May

Solid enough in defence. Didn’t get forward much.

Manchester City

1-2: Saturday, 27th April

Comments to follow...

Wigan Athletic

2-0: Saturday, 20th April

Had a couple of problems with Beausejour immediately after he came on but recovered his composure to have another decent game.

Manchester United

2-2: Wednesday, 17th April

Continues to improve well – defended superbly and got forward to support Vaz Te on the right. Involved in Diame’s goal.

Southampton

1-1: Saturday, 13th April

Comments to follow...

Tottenham Hotspur

2-3: Monday, 25th February

Stuck to his task well throughout but he never seems to convince going forward.

Chelsea

3-1: Saturday, 1st December

Had some dodgy moments against Moses but stuck to the task and eventually saw off his tormentor.

Arsenal

1-3: Saturday, 6th October

Stuck to his task well under difficult circumstances up to his untimely departure.

Sunderland

1-1: Saturday, 22nd September

One early lapse aside he wasn’t tested defensively. The withdrawal of Vaz Te, with whom he combines well, reduces his force going forward.

Norwich City

0-0: Saturday, 15th September

Defended solidly and kept the Norwich wingers fairly quiet. He was always trying to bomb on in the attack but lacked that killer ball.

Fulham

3-0: Saturday, 1st September

Concentrated more on his defensive duties than when playing here against Villa a fortnight ago but Fulham got no change from him whatsoever.

Fulham

3-0: Saturday, 1st September

Continues to improve out of all recognition from the player who had such a dodgy play-off final. Combined well with Vaz Te and treated us to a cheeky back heel in the second half.

Swansea City

0-3: Saturday, 25th August

Largely built on his first game, looking strong and quick. When Jarvis was on the right, he would do well to get forward more and help Jarvis to deliver crosses from wide areas.

Aston Villa

1-0: Saturday, 18th August

A much better game than his last run-out (at Wembley). Harder tests will come and I remain to be totally convinced but there were a few signs of a nice right side combination developing with Vaz Te.

Blackpool

2-1: Saturday, 19th May

A bit of a shocker really. Looked well off the pace before his injury-prompted substitution. Maybe a full pre-season will help .

Cardiff City

3-0: Monday, 7th May

Continues to improve – not least with the quality of his delivery into the box which has gone from being laughable in his early matches to being genuinely dangerous over the past couple of weeks.

Cardiff City

2-0: Thursday, 3rd May

A much better performance and no hint of the silly mistake that cost a goal the previous weekend against Hull.

Hull City

2-1: Saturday, 28th April

A couple of good blocks but still doesn’t have to have got the pace of the game yet. Not the greatest of crossers and quite what he was up to for their goal lord alone knows.

Brighton & Hove Albion

6-0: Saturday, 14th April

Lacks a little bit of match fitness – understandably so given the rotten luck he’s had with injury.

Burnley

1-2: Saturday, 3rd December

Did not play.

Derby County

3-1: Saturday, 26th November

Did not play.

Crystal Palace

2-2: Saturday, 1st October

Did not play.
Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.

Guy Demel did not play for West Ham during this season.