First Team Squad

Player profile and performance records.

Jack Wilshere (Midfielder)

Image

Jack Wilshere

Stevenage, England
Squad Number: 19
Position: Midfielder
Born: 1st Jan 1992 (Stevenage, England)
Signed: 9th Jul 2018 (£0)
Contract: 3 years
Previous Club: Free Transfer

 

vs Everton

1-4: Wednesday, 30th September
(Played 90 minutes)

A relatively quiet and neat performance. Looked to enjoy playing with Lanzini in particular. He basically did all that was needed and was disciplined enough to sit deep.

vs Hull City

5-1: Tuesday, 22nd September
(Played 90 minutes)

A relatively quiet and neat performance. Looked to enjoy playing with Lanzini in particular. He basically did all that was needed and was disciplined enough to sit deep.

vs Brentford

2-1: Saturday, 29th August
(Played 45 minutes)

It was good to see the midfielder back in action although any signs of the quality that once saw him tipped as England's best midfielder of his generation appear to have disappeared.

vs Ipswich Town

4-1: Tuesday, 25th August
(Played 90 minutes)

n/a

Aston Villa

1-1: Sunday, 26th July

Did not play. * Other unused subs: Conor Coventry, Xande Silva.

Manchester United

1-1: Wednesday, 22nd July

Did not play. * Other subs not used: Manuel Lanzini, Felipe Anderson.

Watford

3-1: Friday, 17th July

Did not play. * Other subs unused: Manuel Lanzini, Felipe Anderson.

Norwich City

4-0: Saturday, 11th July

(Replaced Noble) Not a lot to say about the subs, they were all barely stretched and all did much the same as each other.. Came on, kept the ball ticking over, saw out the game without incident.

Burnley

0-1: Wednesday, 8th July

Did not play. * Other subs unused: Mark Noble, Manuel Lanzini.

Newcastle United

0-0: Saturday, 4th July

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Chelsea

3-2: Wednesday, 1st July

(Replaced Lanzini) Lacked the pace of Lanzini and struggled to get into the game, but nearly set up Antonio late on and is an intelligent and calm ball player to bring on.

Tottenham Hotspur

0-2: Tuesday, 23rd June

Did not play.

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-2: Saturday, 20th June

Did not play. (Other unused subs: Xande Silva, Albian Ajeti)

Arsenal

0-1: Saturday, 7th March

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Liverpool

2-3: Monday, 24th February

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Leicester City

1-4: Wednesday, 22nd January

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Everton

1-1: Saturday, 18th January

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Bournemouth

4-0: Wednesday, 1st January

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Leicester City

1-2: Saturday, 28th December

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Crystal Palace

1-2: Thursday, 26th December

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Chelsea

1-0: Saturday, 30th November

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Tottenham Hotspur

2-3: Saturday, 23rd November

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Burnley

0-3: Saturday, 9th November

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Everton

0-2: Saturday, 19th October

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Crystal Palace

1-2: Saturday, 5th October

(Replaced Yarmolenko) One moment nearly opened up the game, lovely footwork and a good pass that Haller was only just stopped shooting from.

Bournemouth

2-2: Saturday, 28th September

(Replaced Noble) Three of his five passes went to Bournemouth players, often inexcusably, and it was his only influence in the game. He really just looked completely off the pace.

Oxford United

0-4: Wednesday, 25th September

You'd expect much more from a senior pro in a game like this. Lots of possession but did little with it.

Manchester United

2-0: Sunday, 22nd September

(Replaced Anderson) A useful substitute cameo, with good forward running and nice links between the midfield and attack. Clearly sharper on the ball than current Fornals, but would not have done his running.

Aston Villa

0-0: Monday, 16th September

Did not play.

Newport County

2-0: Tuesday, 27th August

Didn’t always work in the first half, but it was the kind of game where Wilshere in the middle of the park worked. He seemed to be constantly carrying the ball forward, looking for quick passes or movement ahead of him. Reacted really well to win possession for his goal and finished excellently. Where Noble passes, Jack often carries the ball. Positive being that he’s available for passes in the move going forward, but negative in that he’s lost further forward when moves break down. A slight conundrum.

Brighton & Hove Albion

1-1: Saturday, 17th August

Not particularly in the game and was rightly withdrawn.

Manchester City

0-5: Saturday, 10th August

Criticism of his suitability in a midfield two is already around, but he got up and down the pitch well, seemed to be leading the effort to press, moved with the ball well.

Athletico Bilbao

2-2: Saturday, 3rd August

A good run out for Wilshere although he doesn't look completely comfortable in the 'Mark Noble' role. The goal will do him the world of good.

Fulham

1-0: Saturday, 27th July

Match notes to follow.

Newcastle United

0-1: Saturday, 20th July

(Replaced Lanzini) Looked bright and sprayed the ball around nicely, whilst creating a chance or two for his team mates.

Manchester City

1-4: Wednesday, 17th July

Fit again and it showed - and long may that remain the case.

Newcastle United

3-0: Saturday, 1st December

(Replaced Noble) Nice turn in midfield and easy pass out wide for the assist.

Macclesfield Town

8-0: Wednesday, 26th September

Everton

3-1: Sunday, 16th September

Wolverhampton Wanderers

0-1: Saturday, 1st September

AFC Wimbledon

3-1: Tuesday, 28th August

Looked completely out-of-sorts in the first half but like Noble alongside him, better after the break.

Arsenal

1-3: Saturday, 25th August

Looked completely out-of-sorts in the first half but like Noble alongside him, better after the break.

Bournemouth

1-2: Saturday, 18th August

Is Wilshere's contribution being inhibited by Noble's presence - and vice versa? Neither seem comfortable although the England midfielder was the better of the central pair.

Liverpool

0-4: Sunday, 12th August

Looked completely out-of-sorts in the first half but like Noble alongside him, better after the break.
Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.

Jack Wilshere did not play for West Ham during this season.