New man takes the 22

  • by Staff Writer
  • Friday, 19th July 2019

West Ham's latest signing, Sebastien Haller, has been issued the number 22 shirt.

Haller, who arrived via Frankfurt earlier in the week has taken the shirt he formerly wore whilst with Eredivisie club FC Utrecht, for whom he played between 2015 and 2017 before sealing a move to the German side.

Embed from Getty Images

Whilst in the Bundesliga, the 25-year-old wore the number nine shirt, although that is no longer available at West Ham having been given to Javier Hernandez - despite the Mexican international being linked with a move away from Stratford.

The shirt was last worn competitively by Sam Byram during the 2017/18 campaign, but went unseen last season with the full back on loan at Nottingham Forest.

Embed from Getty Images

Prior to that, it was goalkeeper Jussi Jaaskelainen who adopted the shirt following his move from Bolton to the Boleyn Ground in the summer of 2012 - one of two goalkeepers to adopt the number.

Altogether Haller will become the 12th West Ham player to wear the number 22 since squad numbers were introduced at the inception of the Premier League.

The only striker to have wore it previously was former England international Les Ferdinand.

Embed from Getty Images

A history of the #22 shirt

2019/20: Sebastien Haller
2018/19: n/a
2017/18: Sam Byram
2016/17: Sam Byram
2015/16: Sam Byram
2014/15: Jussi Jaaskelainen
2013/14: Jussi Jaaskelainen
2012/13: Jussi Jaaskelainen
2011/12: Henri Lansbury
2010/11: Manuel da Costa
2009/10: Manuel da Costa
2008/09: n/a
2007/08: n/a
2006/07: n/a
2005/06: Elliott Ward
2004/05: Elliott Ward
2003/04: Matthew Kilgallon/Andy Melville
2002/03: Les Ferdinand
2001/02: n/a
2000/01: Craig Forrest
1999/00: Craig Forrest
1998/99: Craig Forrest
1997/98: Craig Forrest
1996/97: Adrian Whitbread
1995/96: Adrian Whitbread
1994/95: Adrian Whitbread
1993/94: Colin Foster

* Something to say about this story? Please visit the KUMB Forum to leave a comment.

Related News