Four former Hammers nominated for Hall of Fame

  • by Staff Writer
  • Thursday, 30th March 2023

Four former Premier League stars who featured for West Ham United at one point during their careers have been nominated as potential inductees for the organisation's Hall of Fame.

Michael Carrick, Jermain Defoe and Rio Ferdinand all began their careers in east London and are up for nomination - as is Les Ferdinand, who arrived at the club towards the end of his long and illustrious career.

Embed from Getty Images

15 players have been shortlisted for inclusion in total (see graphic below), with three places available. In order to be eligible they must be retired as of 1 January 2023. They are as follows:

Tony Adams, Sol Campbell, Michael Carrick, Petr Čech, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Jermain Defoe, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Gary Neville, Michael Owen, John Terry, Yaya Touré, and Nemanja Vidić.

Fans around the world are now invited to place their votes for the three players who will take their place in the Hall of Fame, alongside the 16 previous inductees and Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsène Wenger, who became the first managers to be inducted this week.

Fans can vote at and via the official Premier League app. Voting is open until 6pm on Monday 10 April, with the three inductees to be announced on Wednesday 3 May.

* Something to say about this story? Please visit the KUMB Forum to leave a comment.

More News